Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find a pattern and print next all character to next space Post 302414980 by pierrebjarnfelt on Thursday 22nd of April 2010 01:47:19 AM
Old 04-22-2010
Thanks.
I'll giv it a try.

I forgot to tell you what I am trying to do this on a Windows machine with UnxUtils "installed".

Your right!!!
I will do better in the future to show what I have done.
I'm new to scripting in shell code.

I have tried the following code without any real progress.Smilie

Code:
cat file.txt |gawk "match($0,/*IP=/){print substr($0,RSTART+4,15) "IP" }"

The problem is that I want to print to the next white space... not only 15 characters...

/Pierre

---------- Post updated 22-04-10 at 12:47 AM ---------- Previous update was 21-04-10 at 11:15 AM ----------

Hi Again,

Due to the fact that I'm is forced to work with windows I can't get it to work.
I have changed the ' to " and I still donsen't work.
I think it has to be somthing with the windows formating.

Code:
sed -n "s/.*\*IP=\([^ ]*\) .*$/\1/p" /path/to/inputfile

Result:

/Pierre

edit by bakunin: i edited into the text the code-tags you should have used yourself when posting code or code-snippets. Thanks for doing this yourself from now on.

Last edited by bakunin; 04-22-2010 at 08:26 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to print range of lines using sed when pattern has special character "["

Hi, My input has much more lines, but few of them are below pin(IDF) { direction : input; drc_pinsigtype : signal; pin(SELDIV6) { direction : input; drc_pinsigtype : ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nehashine
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print characters till the next space when the pattern is found