Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl-opening a file then copying files Post 302414817 by thegeek on Wednesday 21st of April 2010 04:55:17 AM
Old 04-21-2010
where are you opening a file for read ? normally that should be using <.

where are you going through the file to read ? normally that should be using while.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copying files from file to another

How do I copy one file from one unix file to another??? I'm new at this, please help.. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tevin
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl - copying files

Folks, here is my code: I am a serious newbie, why doesn't this make copies of my files? I dont get any errors, the files are just not created. Your help is appreciated #!/usr/bin/perl use File::Copy; $PWD = `pwd`; $REPORTDIR = "/usr/local/tripwire/tfs/report"; chdir $REPORTDIR;... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Opening Files and checking contents in Perl

Hi All, I need some expert help in performing the following in Perl. I have a code below but it doesn;t seem to work. Can any expert give me some advice? Below are the requirements 1) Open numerous files assigned to an array @FILES. Note that the files are always named with the term... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Raynon
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Opening Mulitple files using For loop in Perl

Hi All, I have a total of ten file to open in the Perl script and i am using a for loop to open each file and capture some strings inside each file. Unfortunately, i encounter the below syntax error. I think there should be something wrong with this term reports_${counting}_${_}.txt but i do... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Raynon
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Opening File names with spaces inside it !- PERL