Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Dynamic variables and eval
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Dynamic variables and eval Post 302414767 by yonderboy on Wednesday 21st of April 2010 02:11:39 AM
Old 04-21-2010
Thanks very much both! My eval code now works....

I now see what you mean about using arrays instead of counters....I am going to do that. Very longsighted of you!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic variables within shell script

Hi Gurus, I have a requirement of writting the shell script where it should ask me two values FND_TOP=/d02/app/oracle/xxx/fnd/11.5.0 CDCRM_TOP=/d02/app/oracle/xxx/cdcrm/11.5.0 and then keep these values stored as variables for the execution of rest of the script. Because, I have to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: isingh786
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dynamic variables

I am new to unix and the following problem is bugging me.:confused: var1="hello1" var2="hello2" var3="hello3" counter=1 while do echo $var$counter done the idea here is to display the value of "var" based on the counter. I am using the korn shell. I used array here but the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: max_payne1234
4 Replies

3. Programming

global variables and dynamic allocation

Hi, is it possible in C to allocate dynamically a global variable?? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: littleboyblu
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem with dynamic variables outside the loop

Hi All, Shell is ksh I've given portion of the script here to explain the problem. It will accept 2 input parameters . in_file1=$1 in_file2=$2 outbound_dir=/home/outbound for i in 1 2 do eval file$i=$outbound_dir/\$in_file$i eval echo "filename is \$file$i" ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: kk17
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

dynamic variables - eval - expand etc.