Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to type ISO_8859_1 characters in shell script? Post 302414237 by jim mcnamara on Monday 19th of April 2010 02:52:15 PM
Old 04-19-2010
Did you try ALT-194 - hold down the alt key, then enter 1 9 4 on the numeric keypad?

What does
Code:
locale

show for you?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Specifying font type and color in a shell script

Hi, I am new to shell script. Can you please tell me, whether can we specify font type and color in a shell script? If so, how to do this? Thanks in advance. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Vani_Govind
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to type the Omega symbol Ω in unix shell script

Hi, I have a data file delimited by Ω symbol, I would like to use this in grep and cut command. but How to type this Omega symbol. Thanks Murugesan (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: NagaMurugesan
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

help removing characters for output file in shell script

hi i'm new to shell scripts and have a small problem i am running a batch converter that returns all flash .flv files in a directory and create a png image from each one the problem i have is the $1 variable , its ok on the first call but on the secound call $1.png , i have extra... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: wingchun22
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

converting the data type in unix shell script

I am writing a unix shell script that will extract records from table and write into a file. ====================================== #! /bin/ksh ############################ # AFI Monitor Script ############################ . /db2/uszlad48/sqllib/db2profile export... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: kmanivan82
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bold characters in a file using Shell script