Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Sorting file with columns (problem) Post 302414061 by daelas on Monday 19th of April 2010 06:46:20 AM
Old 04-19-2010
Sorting file with columns (solved)

Hi all! I am new to Unix programming so bare with me please Smilie.

I have saved the output of my results in a file called testfile which contains 3 columns a 15 rows.

e.g.
Code:
 175 754 abvd  
 948 454 fewf 
  43 754 fewc
   6 734 feww
  xxx  xxx xxxx

I want to sort the contents of this file in descending order but when I use sort -nr it will only sort the first column while the second column will be sorted accordingly to the sorting of the first, which makes it a bit messy.

Any help will be much appreciated

Last edited by daelas; 04-19-2010 at 11:07 AM.. Reason: solved!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem in sorting the file

file format is word filename no.of occurances ------------------------------ wish f3.txt 2 wish f2.txt 1 cold f1.txt 5 cold f2.txt 3 cold f1.txt 3 cold e.txt 3 gold f1.txt 7 gold f3.txt 3 rush e.txt 2 itz abt building a search index for every word in the files given as input the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vishnu_vaka
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sorting a file with multiple columns

I have a file with several columns: Column1 Column2 Column3. . .Column6 I want to sort the data from Column6. Could I do that through sort even if there are spaces in between fields? Much thanks! outta. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: outtacontrol
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sorting file content on columns

guys i have a question: i'd like to sort files (as many I want) in columns so to visualize them one near the other...so let's say i have just 2 files: FILE1 John Mary Bridget FILE2 Anne Robert Mark i would like to obtain: John Anne Mary Robert Bridget ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: marshmallow
2 Replies