Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers Old hand to FreeBSD, brand new to KDE ??'s Post 302411917 by droolin on Friday 9th of April 2010 08:10:00 PM
Old 04-09-2010
Ok, it's been a bit sense I posted that question and I have become a bit more comfortable with the kde. Wish this machine had some more guts under the hood, only a p4 but with 2 gig of mem.

kde 3.5, I have the ability to configure more then one desktop and can actually ctrl/tab my way through them. It's kind of cool, but I don't really use it. yet.

With regard to my original question, I have done everything through the command line with regard to the ports/packages.

Thank you for the followup. I'm still punting my way through this setup... But, I like it for the most part.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

FreeBSD 4.4 Uninstalling KDE or GNOME

Hey all :) I finally got around to installing FreeBSD 4.4, which considering it's my first attempt with *nix, didn't go too badly. I've managed to configure X and everything else, but I've got a bit of a problem, lol. I installed KDE and GNOME. I had a rough idea as to what they were, but I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hellz
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Give us a hand

How do you get an awk output into columns i.e. awk (print $1,$2,$3) doesn't come out into nice columns but lots of lines of txt want something more like. I am crap at unix so give me a hand thx Rich (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RichardB
3 Replies

3. BSD

FreeBSD / KDE installation woes...

Forgive the newbie question. I've been trying to install FreeBSD 5.4 on a new AMD64 based box at work today, and I started running into problems. Maybe some background is appropriate? Here goes... I've finished the first stage of development of a model in C++ which simulates airflow through a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ForestryJim
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting