Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is meant by subprocesses? Post 302406213 by Straitsfan on Monday 22nd of March 2010 09:52:53 AM
Old 03-22-2010
But, with all due respect, that doesn't make it any clearer.

Can you tell me what a process is, and give an example of one, and then explain/give an example, or tell me then what the subprocess would be? I'm just learning about this kind of stuff and it's still confusing. Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Please help me with this script meant for checking /etc/passwd if a name exists

I'm trying to create a program that includes variety of duties. One of the duties includes deleting a user if the user name exist in the /etc/passwd file. how do i make that happen. those of you that know about this shell programming, please tell me what i should do after the shell reads... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: TRUEST
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

possibility to call subprocesses from ksh ??

Hi!! Is there a possibility to call/start a subproces using ksh ?? Hope that there is somebody to help me. thanks in advance. Corine (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: TheBlueLady
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What is meant by Kernel Parameter "dflssiz" in Digital Unix (OSF)

Hi, We have a Digital Unix Server with OSF. There's a Kernel Parameter "dflssiz" on this server. I just want to know, what it means. Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sameerdes
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What is meant by <<! ... ! ??

I tried typing it into google but no results. I don't know what it's called or what it does and when it is used so I must ask: What does it mean if you have something like... cmd <!! cm2 cm3 ! What do those <!! and ! symbols do? When/why do you use them? I found it inside a bourne... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: yongho
2 Replies