Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Capturing multi-line records containing known value? Post 302404762 by cs03dmj on Wednesday 17th of March 2010 07:28:35 AM
Old 03-17-2010
Thanks to you all for this; I have subsequently learnt a lot and expanded my final script (should it help anyone in future), which allows multiple searches to be passed from the command line and is based upon records separated by one or more empty lines.

Last edited by cs03dmj; 03-17-2010 at 11:41 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Multi-Line Records Processing

I am an Awk newbie and cannot wrap my brain around my problem: Given multi-line records of varying lengths separated by a blank line I need to skip the first two lines of every record and extract every-other line in each record unless the first line of the record has the word "(CONT)" in the... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: RacerX
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Multi-Line Records Numbering Problem

I have a set of files of multi-line records with the records separated by a blank line. I needed to add a record number to the front of each line followed by a colon and did the following: awk 'BEGIN {FS = "\n"; RS = ""}{for (i=1; i<=NF; i++)print NR,":",$i}' ~/Desktop/data98-1-25.txt >... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RacerX
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grep specific records from a file of records that are separated by an empty line

Hi everyone. I am a newbie to Linux stuff. I have this kind of problem which couldn't solve alone. I have a text file with records separated by empty lines like this: ID: 20 Name: X Age: 19 ID: 21 Name: Z ID: 22 Email: xxx@yahoo.com Name: Y Age: 19 I want to grep records that... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Atrisa
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Alphabetical sort for multi line records contains in a single file