Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Which is the best way/command to do mathematics in UNIX scripting? Post 302403959 by amitranjansahu on Monday 15th of March 2010 07:26:48 AM
Old 03-15-2010

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

mathematics operations in unix

Hello guys! Can say me anybody about operatios with unix, I don't to make operations, only inside in a variable, like this #y=4 #x=2 #let z=$y-$x #echo $z # 2 but I can't to make mathematical operations with decimal like this #y=3.2 #x=1.5 #let z=$y-$x #echo $z # 3 this... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cesar720213
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

mathematics in shell script

Hi Friends, I am new to shell scripting and a trying to work this out. I have a variable called $number. The value in this variable is 10 I want to display $number - 2 in a mail. The result would be 8 eg. mail -s 'subject' user <<eof the result of your calculation is $number - 2... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sureshy
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

difference between AIX shell scripting and Unix shell scripting.

please give the difference between AIX shell scripting and Unix shell scripting. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: haroonec
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

hell & mathematics

I've been able to generate output based on the code scarfake provided me (thanks again man). A little background so everyone more or less knows whats going on: I needed code that would propagate a database with 100,000 entries, for capacity testing purposes, something like a stress test. ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ogoy
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

recommend book for unix command/ shell scripting

Hi, i wish to learn unix commands and shell scripting. platform is solaris. but i am focused more on handy unix commands than system administration. which books do you recommend? (1 Reply)