Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Get line of textfile and store it in variable Post 302403927 by murugaperumal on Monday 15th of March 2010 06:31:03 AM
Old 03-15-2010
Code:
my $str="BlaBlaBla Bla2Bla2Bla2 *pPointerOne;";
  if($str=~/[a-z0-9]+\s+\*([a-z A-Z]+)\;/)
  {
      print $1;
  }

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Read and store each line of a file to a variable

Hi all, I'm quite new to unix and hope that someone can help me on this. I'm using csh. Below is what i intend to do. 1. I stored some data in a file. 2. I intend to read the file line by line and store each line of data into a variable, so that i can used it later. Anyone have any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: seijihiko
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

store the first line of a file in a variable

i have to store the files in a folder and assign a variable to the the files. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: dineshr85
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh: How to store each output line into a different variable?

Example output: /tmp/generatelines.sh line1 line2 line3 line4 I want each output line assigned to its own variable, ie: "line1" --> $a "line2" --> $b "line3" --> $c "line4" --> $d Is this possible without writing to a temporary file? Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ksheller
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing a number at the end of line and store it as variable

Hello, Would someone guide me on how to write a shell script the would search for a phone no using at the end text file using sed or awk and store it in a varaible or print it. The text file is in this form text or numbers in first line text or numbers in second line . . . Firsname... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: amuthiga
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

cut a string in a textfile line per line