Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Advice needed on using Script with NOHUP Post 302403083 by Corona688 on Thursday 11th of March 2010 10:51:33 AM
Old 03-11-2010
So, you want the original process to terminate, while fexp.exec continues to run independently? If you're using the bash shell, the 'disown' command willl tell it not to wait for background processes to return before quitting, but otherwise I don't see why it would be hanging in the first place. It should just quit and let the background process continue.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Linux

programming advice needed....

i'm a grad student taking a UNIX course and a networks course (i have a background in C++ and JAVA). i'm trying to combine the two classes. My questions stems from a networks programming homework assignment below: "Using the operating system and language of your choice, develop a program to... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: trostycp
5 Replies

2. Solaris

Using San storage - advice needed

Thinking of using our San for network backups.. Have a Netra 240 being installed and planning to get some space on our San. Do you know what software is used to access the San from my server or what I would need to do? I know how to connect to local storage, disk arrays etc but not sure what... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

eval problem.. advice needed!

Hi I need some major help with eval I have a statement using eval: read input eval variable$input=”something” Now I want to use the “variable$input” in some commands but I don't know how to call it without replacing the $input with the command line value (which I obviously can't do). ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Cactus Jack
1 Replies

4. Linux

GUI builder advice needed ......