Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Understanding a Shell Script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Understanding a Shell Script Post 302402999 by angshuman_ag on Thursday 11th of March 2010 05:09:37 AM
Old 03-11-2010
Hi amit,
What does this mean
fixpart="/etc/usr/transfer_script # transferring to a system"

There is a "#" before a string and the entire file path and the string are in a quote.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help on understanding the Shell and AWK scripts

Hello Friends, I am new to the scripting & have to analyze bunch of regular production scripts. It has .ksh which calls on the .awk script having many functions I need to understand and debug the scripts ASAP Can anybody please let me know as how can I debug, I want to see the flow of code... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amberj123
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Understanding a Simple Shell Script

#! /usr/bin/ksh old=$1 new=$2 for file in *.$old ; do mv $file ${file%$old}$new done exit 0 This script i got from the forum. script changes the extension of the files say example a.txt to a.doc b.txt to b.doc c.txt to c.doc d.txt to d.doc this scipt works fine but i am not... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijays3
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need a better understanding of shell scripts

Need a better understanding of shell scripts (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: sureshkumar4737
14 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help understanding this script.

Can someone explain what is happening line by line in this script, particularly after the do statement. The script works, it renames all the files in my directory that has a date in the file name. But I would like to know more about it. #!/bin/bash newdate=12-10-1995 for file in *--* do ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Harleyrci
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting