Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Added new line before a specific pattern problem asking Post 302401750 by devtakh on Sunday 7th of March 2010 11:59:07 PM
Old 03-08-2010
Sed:

Code:
sed  '/pattern/{N;s/^/\n/}' filename

cheers,
Devaraj Takhellambam

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

merge columns into one line after a specific pattern

Hi all, im a linux newbie, plz help! I have a file - box -------- Fox-2 -------- UF29 zip42 -------- zf-CW SNF2_N Heli_Z -------- Fox -------- Kel_1 box (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sam_2921
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

extract specific line if the search pattern is found

Hi, I need to extract <APPNUMBER> tag alone, if the <college> haas IIT Chennai value. college tag value will have spaces embedded. Those spaces should not be suppresses. My Source file <Record><sno>1</sno><empid>E0001</empid><name>Rejsh suderam</name><college>IIT ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sekar1
3 Replies

3. Programming

Print specific pattern line in c++

Input file: @HWI-BRUNOP1_header_1 GACCAATAAGTGATGATTGAATCGCGAGTGCTCGGCAGATTGCGATAAAC +HWI-BRUNOP1_header_1 TNTTJTTTETceJSP__VRJea`_NfcefbWe Desired output file: >HWI-BRUNOP1_header_1 GACCAATAAGTGATGATTGAATCGCGAGTGCTCGGCAGATTGCGATAAAC >HWI-BRUNOP1_header_2... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: cpp_beginner
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem in Pattern-Specific Actions in awk

Hi i am in learning phase of unix i am able to understand basic of awk but not able to understand Pattern-Specific Actions in awk below is the snippet . awk ' / *\$*\. */ { print $1,$2,$3,"*"; } / *\$0\. */ { print ; } ' fruit_prices.txthere i am not getting the use of wild card. what... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: scriptor
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace string in line below specific pattern?