Sponsored Content
Special Forums Hardware Filesystems, Disks and Memory What do these SCSI errors mean? Post 302401073 by bumblebee on Thursday 4th of March 2010 11:58:56 PM
Old 03-05-2010
What do these SCSI errors mean?

Linux / Kernel experts,

Please help. I'm getting errors with various return codes, similar to:

Code:
kernel: SCSI error : <0 0 5 165> return code = 0x8000002

I would like to know how / where to lookup the definition of the numbers between the angle brackets, and the return code itself.

I checked scsi.h, sg.h, and scsi_ioctl.h, i've got a feeling that the answer is within these files but I'm not a programmer and that's just a hunch.

in sg.h:
Code:

/* Turn on error sense trace (1..8), dump this device to log/console (9)
   or dump all sg device states ( >9 ) to log/console.  */
#define SG_SET_DEBUG            0x227e  /* 0 -> turn off debug */
#define SG_NEXT_CMD_LEN         0x2283  /* Override SCSI command length with given
                                           number on the next write() on this file
                                           descriptor.  */

if what im thinking is right, the errors i'm seeing and these entries are related, but i dont know how to reconcile them, and where else to look.

please advice

thanks,
Bee

Last edited by Scott; 03-05-2010 at 01:15 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Scsi

How can you get a scsi card to initalize or decome available at boot up on AIX 4.3 (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: truma1
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Scsi

I would like to install a AIT drive to the scsi connector on our solaris box. I am very new to the unix world and would be greatful if someone could help or lead me in the right direction. Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vpyle
4 Replies

3. Solaris

Which SCSI Adapter?