Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Computer Science and Information Technology Post 302400259 by hpicracing on Tuesday 2nd of March 2010 07:13:38 PM
Old 03-02-2010
Question Computer Science and Information Technology

Hi,
I haven't posted on the forums for a while now, I tried to find the most appropriate section for this post, but if this is in the wrong section please forgive me.
First, let me say I'm a sophomore in HS. I know that job wise I definitely want to do something in computers. A while ago I was considering Systems Administration, but I'm not sure that programming is my thing. The only language I've learned is HTML(I know this doesn't count for much) and I loved doing that. I tried learning C++ and I wasn't crazy about it, I also tried Javascript and wasn't crazy about that either. I'm beginning to think maybe I'm not the programming type. I love taking computers apart, repairing them, building them, and solving any problems with them. I think this is probably more the area I'm interested in, but again, I'm not sure. Smilie I've been told I'd be really good in sales, but I really want to do something in computers. I've been looking into undergraduate degrees, and I was originally planning on Computer Science. But now I'm thinking maybe I'd be better off in an Information Technology or Computer Information Systems degree. The thing is, I can't find anything that says what the difference is between these 3 degrees and what you can do with them. I know this is a Unix forum, but I know probably a lot of the people on these forums have been through college and considered different degrees in computers. If anyone could explain the differences in these degrees, and also maybe suggest some careers I might be interested in based off what I said I like to do, I'd really really appreciate it!
Thanks in advance for any help Smilie

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Is Web Development is a part of computer science ?