Sponsored Content
Special Forums IP Networking Is there any way to add an exception for a port in the firewall setting, permanently? Post 302400127 by fpmurphy on Tuesday 2nd of March 2010 09:19:50 AM
Old 03-02-2010
Yes, you can save the settings. Have a look at the man page for iptables-save.

If you are on Fedora/Redhat/Centos you can save your configuration with
Code:
service iptables save

and reload that configuration with
Code:
service iptables reload

Other flavors of Linux have similar functionality but use different syntax.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

How to open SSH port on firewall?

Hi, So that potential responders will have an idea of what they're dealing with let me say that while I am a UNIX newbie I have been in IT for over 10 years. We have several SUN boxes running ver 5 of the OS that have been sitting dormant for some time as they were part of a now defunct... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pjewett
3 Replies

2. Linux

can ping without firewall; no port 631

Well, since I wrote the below, I've learned a little more about Samba, and got them to at least acknowledge each other. Still can't use Gaurd dog. Still cant print from one to the other. I'm learning I'm learning I recently installed mepis 7 on both my laptop and laptop. (I came... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sonshyne5
0 Replies

3. Linux

using firewall to block port

Hi, I will like to allow access to the mysql port (3306) to certain IP address. All other IP's should be automatically blocked. What is the best way to do this? (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: shantanuo
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Setting the path permanently using shell script

I'm trying to set the path permanently through a shell script. (/opt/quest/bin:/usr/bin/lab to /.profile.) I tired using echo option like below but it doesn't work. Please suggest me the right way to do so. echo "PATH=$PATH:/opt/quest/bin:/usr/bin/lab" >> /.profile (6 Replies)