Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting check for file existence on remote machine using sftp Post 302399944 by Scrutinizer on Tuesday 2nd of March 2010 02:26:58 AM
Old 03-02-2010
You could try to ftp 3Com_Files_Delivered.txt to your local host. From the subsequent presence of a copy of that file on your system you can conclude that transfer was successful. If not, then repeat after 5 minutes. If it was successful, then that is the green light to immediately start the transfer of the actual data file and delete the transferred copy of the indicator file. Perhaps there are more sophisticated methods, bit this is simple and the commands for both ftp transfers are almost identical.

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 03-02-2010 at 01:55 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. SCO

Need Script to check whether user exists in the remote machine

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting. Can someone let me know, how to check whether the user exists in the remote system? I am building a new unix box and before I proceed installing the appliation , I want to check whether the required users are created in the system . how to do this ?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Srini75
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

check for a file on a remote machine

Hi, Can someone tell me how to check if a file exists on a remote machine using rexec command?I'm using ksh. Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sheema
3 Replies

3. Red Hat

To find the LATEST file from a dir on REMOTE machine and SCP to local machine?

Hi All, URGENT - Please help me form a scipt for this: I need the LATEST file from a dir on REMOTE machine to be SCP'd to a dir on local machine. (and I need to execute this from local server) I know that the below cmd is used to find the LATEST file from a dir. But this command is not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: me_ub
3 Replies

4. Programming

Check if user logged into remote machine via C++ / Java