Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell script to arrange files into several folders Post 302399887 by fubaya on Monday 1st of March 2010 11:35:36 PM
Old 03-02-2010
After you create the directories (please backup the images first)...
Code:
for i in $(ls -d */)
do
list=$(ls *.jpg | head -200)
mv "$list" "$i"
done

for every directory in a list of directories, get a list of 200 jpgs, move them to that directory

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

runnning a shell script in multiple folders

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to both unix and shell scripts. Right now I have a script that I can run in one folder (if a certain text file is there, do one thing, if it's not, do something else). I want to modify this to run in multiple directories. My setup is: a company directory, and within it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: melearlin
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to move files to 3 different folders

Hi guys: I've got this problem, I want to move a bunch of files to 3 different folders, without any specific order, and I'm trying to automatize it with a shell script. I'm a newbie at shell scripting so this is my first try: #!/bin/bash COUNTER=`ls -1 | wc -l` while do ARRAY=(... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: wretchedmike
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

fixperms on folders in shell script

Hi, I am using fixperms command to change permissions of diretories in my script, i have to change 3 directories permissions one by one using fixperms. i tried the below code code: exec DIR1/fixperms -rRy DIR1 exec DIR2/fixperms -rRy DIR2 exec DIR3/fixperms -rRy DIR3 but this is... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sreelu
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to arrange xml tags in single row using shell script?