Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming write() issue during a low level hdd access Post 302397655 by sponnusa on Monday 22nd of February 2010 11:46:54 PM
Old 02-23-2010
I feel that the implementation is manufacturer and model specific in most of the cases I've seen so far. Also, the revision of ATA specs the drive implements. Older the drive, the longer it takes on certain specific operations (though not necessarily).

I have been composing a knowledge base for internal use, (for the past 6 years) comprising various drives ranging from sizes of few MBs to the TB's in IDE / SATA, SCSI, SAS and FC and believe me, there are some obscure models which say they implement a particular specification (be it ATA or some other spec) Version and revision, but does not work when a version specific command is fired towards them! Smilie

It's been a long journey working with the magnetic media and erasure applications and I have seen almost all of the market leaders hands on(including hardware)!! Smilie

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Low level format?

I want to do a low level format like in windows (C:\format c:) but I don't know how it works in unix or linux.. Can somebody help me ? thnx :) (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: day
3 Replies

2. HP-UX

Access to a second HDD

Hello How to access to a second hard disk on a HP-UX system? Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ouniss
3 Replies

3. IP Networking

Best reference for understanding low level info on nic cards drivers and functionality

Hi, What is the best reference that gives in detail on nic cards configuration , assigning multiple ip addresses to a single interface, netlink library etc and all basic stuff at this level..? Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gopi Krishna P
2 Replies

4. AIX

High Runqueue (R) LOW CPU LOW I/O Low Network Low memory usage