Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash interactive installation script Post 302396776 by Softsmid on Friday 19th of February 2010 09:13:45 AM
Old 02-19-2010
Bash interactive installation script

Hi, for an exercise I need to write a script that will ask the user about each package in a (local) repository and install it or not according to the user's input.

I am fairly new to scripting, so I did not get very far. Here is what I came up with. I really appreciate your help.

Code:
#!/bin/bash 
#Checks if you are root or not 
if test "`id -u`" -ne 0
	then 
	echo "You need to run this script as root!" 
	exit 
fi
#here needs to start a loop that lists all the packages like dpkg -l does one for one and
#asks for user input. I got as far as the code below. But the script does not stop yet to ask
#after every file, any suggestions?
for pkg in `dpkg -l`
do
	echo Found package: $pkg
done
		echo "Do you wish to install $pkg ?"
		select yn in "Yes" "No"
		do
		    case $yn in
		        Yes ) apt-get -d install $apl; break;;
		        No ) exit;;
		    esac
		done
	# continue...

Last edited by Softsmid; 02-19-2010 at 11:28 AM.. Reason: code tags, please...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Homework & Coursework Questions

Help with Interactive / Non Interactive Shell script

Q. Write a script that behaves both in interactive and non interactive mode. When no arguments are supplied it picks up each C program from the directory and prints first 10 lines. It then prompts for deletion of the file. If user supplies arguments with the script , then it works on those files... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rits
1 Replies

2. Homework & Coursework Questions

How to write script that behaves both in interactive and non interactive mode