Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How can I execute a shell script from an html link? Post 302396428 by Scott on Thursday 18th of February 2010 11:31:16 AM
Old 02-18-2010
Hi.

The simplest way is probably just to put the script into your cgi-bin directory.

You need something like this at the top of your script (after the shebang, but before echoíng anything else), otherwise you'll get a 500 error.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
echo "Content-type: text/html"
echo

and then have a link to the script in your web page:
i.e.
Code:
<a href="/cgi-bin/myScript.sh">Run Script</a>

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

needed very good link for Shell script

I am new to shell script.I need a link which explains basic concepts for shell scrpting (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajareddy_24
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to create a link

Hi All, I have a problem to writing a shell script to create a soft link in some other directory For eg: /opt/Shreedhar/Naik is directory now i need to write shell script in the path /opt/Shreedhar/Naik which should create a soft link in /opt/Shreedhar. I have tried to write the script... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shreedhar Naik
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script -- symbolic link

Hi , pwd -P will give the physical directory name for symbolic names. is there any command to get the value of symbolic link ? if it's symbolic link , I have to get the physical directory name? any ideas to code in shell ? Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: talashil
3 Replies

4. Web Development

html link to images in /tmp directory