Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Fgrep or grep or awk help - scanning for delimiters. Post 302396321 by Tbox on Thursday 18th of February 2010 07:10:43 AM
Old 02-18-2010
Both wonderful replies. Both work very well. Thank you so much!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I need help with fgrep or grep

How can I do an and condition with fgrep. I want to do: ps -ef | fgrep -f searchvalues > tempmail.file mailx -s "Email Subject" email@domain.com < tempmail.file The search values file contains: opt/bea.*java.*80 mysqld What I want is to find things that contain: mysqld OR... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy
7 Replies

2. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Difference grep, egrep and fgrep

Hi All, Can anyone please explain me the difference between grep, egrep and fgrep with examples. I am new to unix environment.. Your help is highly appreciated. Regards, ravi (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravind27
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Awk Vs Fgrep

Hi All, I have 2 files new.txt and old.txt cat new.txt sku1|v1|v2|v3 sku2|v11|v22|v33 sku3|v11|v22|v33 cat old.txt sku1|vx1|vx2|vx3 sku2|vx11|vx22|vx33 sku3|v11|v22|v33 The key column in both files are first column itself. I want to get records in... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: morbid_angel
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep/fgrep/egrep for a very large matrix

All, I have a problem with grep/fgrep/egrep. Basically I am building a 200 times 200 correlation matrix. The entries of this matrix need to be retrieved from another very large matrix (~100G). I tried to use the grep/fgrep/egrep to locate each entry and put them into one file. It looks very... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: realwindfly
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Two delimiters with AWK