Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help with echo command in reading blank spaces in aix Post 302395587 by alister on Tuesday 16th of February 2010 12:24:36 PM
Old 02-16-2010
You can just set IFS to an empty string:

Code:
IFS=""

That will guarantee that no field splitting is done and that leading/trailing whitespace is not discarded in the process. Choosing some seldom seen character/byte as the value for IFS always incurs the risk that the splitting will occur on that value if it rears its head.

Regards,
alister

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

howtodelete blank spaces

sry im new to this...another qns.. if i have a line in the normal shell the file is email.scp. it contains a txt file eg hello.txt that contain this infomation. k@hotmail.com j@jotm.com how do i delete away the blank spaces after the k@hotmail.com..i dun wan any blank spaces after the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: forevercalz
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

blank spaces getting deleted

I have to filter out data from a file based on the value of first three characters of each record I have used the following logic FIN=$LOC/TEST2.TXT FEEDFILE=$LOC/TEST1.TXT while read FDROW do FEEDROW=$FDROW; DTYPE=`echo $FEEDROW |cut -c 1-3` if ; then echo $FEEDROW >> $FIN... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gander_ss
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

string with blank spaces

I have a file that has dates like this: date FINAL_RESULT; 7 date FINAL_RESULT; 2 date FINAL_RESULT; 5 With this command: seira=`cut -f2 -d\; tes.txt` i take the date FINAL RESULTs and i store them on variable seira.then seira look like this: 6 3 8 I want to read seira and make a sum of all... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: psalas
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Handling blank spaces