Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to update Property Entry Values Post 302395525 by raghavstunner on Tuesday 16th of February 2010 10:11:51 AM
Old 02-16-2010
Script to update Property Entry Values

Hi All,

I'm Raghavendra. I have a very urgent requirement to develop a Shell Script which will allow to use variables in a property file as demonstarted below

var1=UNIX
var2=LINUX
var3=WINDOWS
var4=$var1,$var2
var5=$var3

Could you please help me to develop a shell script which can take the property file as shown above as the input and creates a new file by replacing the variables with actual values as shown below.

var1=UNIX
var2=LINUX
var3=WINDOWS
var4=UNIX,LINUX
var5=WINDOWS

Thanks & Regards,
Raghavendra

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script: want to insert values in database when update script runs

Hi , I am new to linux and also also to shell scripting. I have one shell script which unpacks .tgz file and install software on machine. When this script runs I want to insert id,filename,description(which will be in readme file),log(which will be in log file) and name of unpacked folder... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ring
1 Replies

2. UNIX and Linux Applications

Edit/update an /etc/group database entry (c/c++)

Hello I'm writing a program for managing accounts and groups in a linux system. My problem is how to update the members of a group in the /etc/group file,if i have to add/remove those members. total 3 variables for adding some new members to the group : char **oldmembers=grp->gr_mem; ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mekos
1 Replies

3. Programming

/etc/shadow update password entry! ( getspent? )