Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Variable of Content From Part of Other File Post 302395279 by royarellano on Monday 15th of February 2010 02:59:41 PM
Old 02-15-2010
Sweet, I tried this:

var1=`grep "^1" testmsg.txt`;

and it worked. But it added the leading number 1 (2, 3, so-on). If I remove the line numbering then it doesn't return the line. So I assume I'd have to truncate that line number and the space after the line number. Sorry I'm still a newbie, so how would I add the truncate in the same call?

v/r
Roy

---------- Post updated at 01:59 PM ---------- Previous update was at 12:50 PM ----------

Anyone?

How to take out the first two characters (spaces) or whatever from a string?

In this case the line looks like this: 1 text text text text;
when I grep 1 I don't want the 1 or the space after it, I just want to echo text text text.

Sorry for such a novice quetion. I did try searching but it pulls ways of doing it with slashes and the trailing part of a string.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirecting variable content to a file!

Hello! I'm having problems trying to extract the contents of a variable and placing it into a text file. Grateful for any help. Been trying something along the lines of: $variable > file.txt or `cat < $variable` > file.txt As you can see I'm a newbie to this :D (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lloowen
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to assign the content of a file to a variable?

Hi all, I have a problem here. I have a file and let we take the content of the file is just '32' (only a numeric value in that file). Now I need to assign this numeric value ( value in that file) to a variable. Is that possible? If so, can you plz advice me on this? Thanks in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: iamgeethuj
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to put content of file into a variable?