Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Geo Weather Challenge
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Geo Weather Challenge Post 302394520 by o0110o on Thursday 11th of February 2010 05:12:59 PM
Old 02-11-2010
CPU & Memory Geo Weather Challenge

Hi everybody, I'm new to these forums and this is my first post. A couple days ago I was trying to find a simple script that would return an individual's local weather conditions using I.P. based geolocation. After many failed search attempts, I began my quest to create this for myself. I have to admit, it was a bit of a challenge for me as I'm very new to doing "cool" things on the command line. However, though the process of trial and error I have prevailed. Here is what I came up with:

Code:
xmlstarlet fo http://www.google.com/ig/api?weather=$(curl -s "http://api.hostip.info/get_html.php?ip=$(curl -s icanhazip.com)" | sed -e '1d' -e '3d' -e 's|C.*:||' -e's/ /%20/g' -e "s/'/%27/g" -e "s/-/%2d/g" -e 's/...\(.*\)/\1/') | sed -e 's|<f.*_i.*>|Locale|' -e 's|<ci.*=|Origin |' -e 's|<c.*_d.*=|Date+Time |' -e 's|<c.*_c.*>|Today|' -e 's|<co.*=|Conditions |' -e 's|<f.*_c.*>|Forecast|' -e 's|<t.*_f.*=|Temperature (°F) |' -e 's|<t.*_c.*=|Temperature (°C) |' -e 's|"H.*: |Humidity "|' -e 's|"W.*: |Wind "|' -e 's|<day.*=|For |' -e 's|<l.*=|Low (°F) |' -e 's|<hi.*=|High (°F) |' -e 's|<.*=||' -e 's|/>||' -e 's|<.*>||' -e 's|</.*>||' -e "s/'/'/g" -e '1,3d;6,9d;11d;18d;25d;28d;32d;35d;39d;42d;46d;48,49d'

This script will return your current local weather conditions as well as a four day forecast. As you can see, the script utilizes CURL, SED and XMLStarlet. As of right now, this is the best I could do.