Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Compare File Differences in different directories Post 302393447 by dmaday on Monday 8th of February 2010 10:02:31 PM
Old 02-08-2010
Compare File Differences in different directories

Hello,

I am new to scripting and have been trying to compare two different directories, but with all the same file names in each directory for file changes. I have been doing it in baby steps and have been doing pretty good, but I have hit a few snags. Test 1 and Test 2 work great, but my ultimate end goal is for each file to have a "difference" file instead of one "difference" file. Also, I am using cygwin to do this. I am comparing two identical websites for changes in code.

Test 1 - Works great.
Code:
diff -r "www.website/intranet" "website_2/intranet" | grep -i | tee FileDetailDiff

Test 2 - Works great.
Code:
diff -r -q "www.website/intranet" "website_2/intranet" | tee FileNameDiff

My last step / tutorial for me is to loop through all the files and this is where i keep getting errors.
This does not work. I figure once i get this working i can add the code in to check for file differences.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
find . -type f|grep .asp$ | while read file
do
   echo "$file"
done

here is the error i am getting:
Code:
$ sh textdiff4.sh
textdiff4.sh: line 5: syntax error near unexpected token `done'
textdiff4.sh: line 5: `done'

For the life of me i cannot figure out what is wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Last edited by Scott; 02-09-2010 at 03:22 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

du -s -k differences between two identical directories