Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Passing command line argument between shell's Post 302393294 by zivsegal on Monday 8th of February 2010 10:43:11 AM
Old 02-08-2010
Thanks for your reply.
But when I pass them more then one(e.g in a recursive routine) it became inconvenient.

Regards,
Ziv

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing the command line argument in a variable

Hi, I am new to unix. Is their a way to pass the output of the line below to a variable var1. ls -1t | head -1. I am trying something like var1=ls -1t | head -1, but I get error. Situation is: I get file everyday through FTP in my unix box. I have to write a script that picks up first... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing a command line argument

I have a shell script which does the encryption of a file where i am passing the file name as a command line argument,but later on the script waits on the screen to enter Y or N what is the command i should be using on the shell script #!/bin/bash -x outfilename=file.out echo... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: rudoraj
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Help with the argument passing Through Command line

$$$$$ (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: asirohi
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Passing command output as an argument to a shell script

Hi, I have a very small requirement where i need to pass command output as an argument while invoking the shell script.. I need to call like this sh testscript.sh ' ls -t Appl*and*abc* | head -n 1' This will list one file name as ana argument.. I will be using "$1" in the shell... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pssandeep
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script for ftp files passed in command line argument