Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Download image every 24hrs + put it in php site Post 302391270 by zYx on Sunday 31st of January 2010 06:06:28 PM
Old 01-31-2010
Download image every 24hrs + put it in php site

Hi everyone, I am all new to this and I might not know what I am asking about Smilie

I have access to a cPanel with cron tab scheduler. I know nothing re scripting creating php etc..

I own a ftp mainly for own email address, some storage, and a forum (ready-made one :P )

I have some knowledge and I learn fast (i think).

Right, what I would like is downloading an image from a website every 24 hours, give it a name with a date and time, plus put it in a php file so I can can see say 100 or 200 images, next to each other.

I've read something about cron, but I think I started from the middle Smilie

I will be grateful for your help guys. I believe it seems easy task, but not for me :/

Last edited by zYx; 04-05-2010 at 03:06 PM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script for download files from ftp site

I'm new to scripting. I'm trying to write a script to download files from ftp site, the following is the script and the message i get after running the script. no files were downloaded :( Thanks advance! script: #!/usr/bin/ksh DAY=`date --date="-1 days" +%y%m%d` ftp -v -n "ftp.address" <<... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tiff-matt
5 Replies

2. Linux

shell script to download files from a site?

Hey everyone, my wife has purchased a bundle package of a bunch of images from a site, and now has to download each one of them manually. There are about 500 downloads, and it's quite a hassle to browse to each page and download them all individually. I would like to write a shell script to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: paqman
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reconnect and download data from online site