Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Beginner Help
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Beginner Help Post 302391150 by thibodeau on Saturday 30th of January 2010 05:02:02 PM
Old 01-30-2010
Yes it is homework...

I did verify the program output and the expected output file... the tests should all pass but the only one that does is the first one... does it have something to do with the tmp file that i make and delete? I know it may seem simple but this is my first time programming in c or shell... i've only done 1 yr in java...

---------- Post updated at 06:02 PM ---------- Previous update was at 05:55 PM ----------

I just tried switching the first and second tests so now my first test passes and second fail so it has nothing to do with the tmp files... the test that passes has no items to sort if that helps you...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Please help. I am a beginner.

Alrigt, I need to write a shell script where it counts the number of folders and files and dispays "My home directory has 'x' files and 'y' directories." So, I was thinking of doing this. set x = `ls | wc` so, if I have 8 files and folders in my home directory, x is not 8. now, I was... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Lykathea Aflame
1 Replies

2. Programming

Beginner C

Anyone know where I can get started in C++ programming in unix? Any good free tutorials or websites to start at? I am okay in unix scripting but have never done c programming of any sort... What are the main advantages of using C++ ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Beginner Help

hi guys, i have a DEl xps laptop cor 2 duo 2.2 i have vista installed on it i want to install a dual Boot UNIX on it.. can some one guide me ...cause i m tottaly new to UNIX i want to install unix on that laptop along with Vista.... thx any help would be deeply appreciated (sorry if i... (5 Replies)