Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Virtualization Related Help!! Post 302391135 by Andre_Merzky on Saturday 30th of January 2010 02:27:12 PM
Old 01-30-2010
Question

I'm not an expert on virtualization, but I think there is no reliable way to obtain information on your physical host. A non-reliable way would be though:

Many VM network setups route traffic via the host system. So, if you perform a traceroute to some external address (Wikipedia), the first hop *may* be your host.

hth

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Virtualization with Solaris 10

Hello all, For my internship assignment I have a Sunfire 880 at my disposal for comparing virtualization with the normal mostly Windows based servers in the company. Are there any applications like VirtualBox or Vmware that can be used on a Sparc-system equipped with Solaris 10? I tried... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: regi86
1 Replies

2. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

Virtualization problem

Hi, I am having a virtualization problem with a machine that runs on Fedora Core 4. I created a IDE virtual machine running FEDORA CORE 4. Then I restored the original servers partition one by one. Everything works until I restore root. Then When I load up I get mount: error 6 mounting ext3... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mojoman
1 Replies

3. Virtualization and Cloud Computing

Hardware virtualization

Hello to all In my organization we want to pass to move the systems to an virtualized environment, nevertheless, considering the absence of resources, the idea is to acquire the versers and that the department (I) do the facilities, tests, etc. Wearing out the possible minimal cost in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aalvarez77
1 Replies

4. HP-UX

Virtualization Software