Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Linux Device Driver: avoid mem copy from/to user/kernel space Post 302390607 by dpc.ucore.info on Thursday 28th of January 2010 11:12:43 AM
Old 01-28-2010
Sorry for refering you to net directly, but isn't this:

Driver porting: Zero-copy user-space access [LWN.net]

what you need?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Kernel and Device Driver Programming

I am looking for a guide on how to program for either the Linux or FreeBSD (includes 4.4BSD, NetBSD or OpenBSD) kernel. I would prefer to learn how to write device drivers, but anything would help. If you know, please email me at *removed* or leave a post here Regards, Farhan (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Farhan
0 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need Book for Linux Basics and Linux device driver.

hai friend, I am new to Linux, i need a book for Linux basic and Linux device driver .. plz send the book name and author(Easy to learn and mostly used by programmers) and also send the link if it is available in Net... Thank you. ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sundar.lsr
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

wake up user space thread from kernel space ISR

Hello, I'm searching for a proper way to let the kernel space ISR(implemented in a kernel module) wake up a user space thread on a hardware interrupt. Except for sending a real-time signal, is it possible to use a semaphore? I've searched it on google, but it seems impossible to share a... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: aaronwong
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Linux Device Driver: how can an ISR wake up a user-thread?

Hi all, Is it possible to do the following in Linux (kernel 2.6.x): - A user-space thread goes to "sleep". Using any call/mechanism - On a hardware generated interrupt, the Interrupt handler (ISR) "wakes" the sleeping user-thread. I have seen wait_event() and wake_up() but it appears... (1 Reply)