Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Placing Duplicate Lines per section into another file Post 302390293 by Franklin52 on Wednesday 27th of January 2010 12:42:54 PM
Old 01-27-2010
Try this one:
Code:
awk 'NF==3 && /header/; $0!=s{s=$0;next}1' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Duplicate lines in the file

Hi, I have a file with duplicate lines in it. I want to keep only the duplicate lines and delete the non duplicates. Can some one please help me? Regards Narayana Gupta (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: guptan
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Placing lines file in array

Hiya I am fairly new to UNIX and have been asked to write some scripts.... I am working in the korn shell. What I am trying to do is to go through a delimited file: Testingline1;test;test Testingline2;test;test and place the lines into an Array so: Array = Testingline1;test;test Array... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ThomasvdH
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using Sed to duplicate a section of a file....

hello all, I have a file like this: section 1 blah1 blah2 section 2 blah1 blah2 section 3 blah1 blah2 and I want to use sed to duplicate section 2, like this: section 1 blah1 blah2 section 2 blah1 blah2 section 2 blah1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nick26
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing Duplicate Lines per Section

Hello, I am in need of removing duplicate lines from within a file per section. File: ABC1 012345 header ABC2 7890-000 ABC3 012345 Header Table ABC4 ABC5 593.0000 587.4800 ABC5 593.5000 587.6580 <= dup need to remove ABC5 593.5000 ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: petersf
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Duplicate Line Report per Section