Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Insert Commas at fixed positions Post 302390215 by arossco on Wednesday 27th of January 2010 08:07:56 AM
Old 01-27-2010
Thanks for the quick reply jostber and suggesting sed - however I think I did not make my problem clear enough - the lines of the textfile can contain any text, i.e.

Code:
H1234      Widget type A             12345
ZZ8888     Flanging Sprocket          999

and I need

Code:
H1234      ,Widget type A             ,12345
ZZ8888     ,Flanging Sprocket         ,999

I'll take a look at the docs for sed Smilie

Ross

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I insert commas/delimiters in File

Hi, Newbie here. Need to convert a txt file to .csv format. There's no character to replace so not sure if I can use sed :confused: . The comma is to be inserted after every certain number of characters in each line... Help! Thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mbelen
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert a record in fixed width flatfile

I have a fixed width flatfile with 5 columns, i will load file from oracle database to the flatfile for every 15 min at the end of the file, i want to insert a record by calling a shell script for inserting a record. please can any one help me. Thanks. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: limou
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Insert Delimiter at fixed locations in a flat file

Hi Can somebody help me with solution for this PLEASE? I have a flat file and need to insert delimiters at fixed positions in all the lines so that I can easily convert into EXCEL with columns defined as per their width. For Example Here is the file { kkjhdhal sdfewss sdtereetyw... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jd_mca
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script replace positions if certain positions equal prescribed value