Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX AIX 6.1 Power6 - Sys CPU utilization twice that of User Post 302389909 by zaxxon on Tuesday 26th of January 2010 11:07:43 AM
Old 01-26-2010
That sy is higher than us just means the kernel has much more to do. That should be because the software is written like this, I would guess. To check in detail what is going on CPU-wise, have look at tprof maybe:

AIX 5.2 performance tools update, Part 3

I have no experience with tprof myself but maybe you get something of worth out of it analysing it.

You could also try again with enabling/disabling SMT (smtctl [on|off]) check for different behaviour, depending if the application has lot's of processes or is written mulithreaded (check with svmon -P| grep -p Pid). If SMT is working fine ie. dispatching works smooth, can be checked with "mpstat -s 1" (see System p education).

Checking how the work is distributed on the different (logical/virtual) CPUs can be done with sar -P ALL 1 9999 for example.

This one might be interessting for you too:
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/wi...len+CPU+cycles

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

CPU Utilization

Dear friends, I am doing a report daily for all most 30 more serves... i need to check out CPU utlization bu (top command, 100 - (ideal value)) and Memory utilization too could some one help me how can i get it directly, if scripts also no problem.. i will very thankful if some one... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: bullz26
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script for cpu utilization for each user

Can someone suggest me the script to calculate cpu utilization for each user in solaris say for a period of 24 Hrs or last 12 Hrs I am using solaris 10. Thanks in Advance (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rajusa10
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to get persistant cpu utilization values per process per cpu in linux (! top,ps)