Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Obscure sed extraction syntax Post 302388492 by royalibrahim on Wednesday 20th of January 2010 03:49:32 PM
Old 01-20-2010
Obscure sed extraction syntax

Hi,

Could anyone clearly explain me the below sed construct in detail to get to know what it actually does?

Code:
sed 's/\([^ ]* *\)//4'

Code:
echo 'test;10;20' | sed 's/[^;]*;\([^;]*\)/\1/'

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED scipt help - line extraction

Forgive me if this is a dumb question...I'm a Windows sys admin with little programming knowledge. I have files containing anywhere from 3 to 200 lines. Using SED, I want to extract only lines containing a specific instance of "ISS." It is possible that "ISS" will occur several times in a... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: thuston22
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed/awk gods, I need your Help! Fancy log extraction

Hi! I'm trying to find a way to extract a certain amount of lines from a log file. This would allow me to "follow" a web user through our log files. Here is a sample fake log file to explain what i want to accomplish : BEGIN REQUEST sessionID=123456 boatload of lines for thread-1 detailing... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: gnagus
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

extraction of samba shares with sed

Hi there, My samba configuration file looks like that : ... ... path = /home/samba/profiles/ ... path = /home/samba/shares/family valid users = family path = /home/samba/shares/admins valid users = admins path = /home/samba/shares/publicI want to extract the list of standard... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: chebarbudo
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extraction of text using sed or awk command