Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat how to print date/cal in /etc/motd on linux server Post 302387845 by Loic Domaigne on Monday 18th of January 2010 01:55:39 PM
Old 01-18-2010
Hello dodasajan,

basically the content of /etc/motd is just displayed using something along the line:
Code:
[ -f /etc/motd ] && cat /etc/motd

IOW, it will be difficult to implement your functionality using /etc/motd... However /etc/profile might be what you are looking for.

HTH,
Loïc

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Linux help on X and motd

Hie guys im new to Unix. Need some advise or favour perhaps. Iam running Red hat Linux 7.2 and as soon as i install with GUI and so done, i reboot the system. After i reboot it directly went to the GUI login. I able to login and do my stuffs. My question is how to hold the system not to directly... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ###1tomato
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replacing old motd with new motd

I need to replace the current /etc/motd text file with a new motd across 30+ servers. Which is the best way to do this? Shell script? sed? Does anyone have an example I can use? Thanks in advance. Unix people are the best!!! :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: antalexi
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

/etc/motd

Hi I do get the message of the day upon logging in to my machine(Solaris 9). I do NOT have a .hushlogin file in my home directory. Any ideas :-) (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: run_time_error
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Get date from cal function

Cal Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 cal | awk '{print $7}' Sat 13 20 27 In the above output i am missing 6 because the first column is empty so it is shfting. How... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ukatru
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting