Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Group Exist Scripting
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Group Exist Scripting Post 302387480 by AliC on Saturday 16th of January 2010 07:43:25 AM
Old 01-16-2010
Group Exist Scripting

Hey People,

I've got a question! How can i write a function in a script which is looking for if a group exist and if not, that the group "users" is the standard group..I know that i have to use "grep" und "if-else"..I will be very happy for answers Smilie

Greetz
Ali

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

What hapens if a group member doesn't exist?

As part of a NIS implementation, (I think) I want to create a group (in /etc/group) that has users that do not exist on the target machine. What effect will this have? Will it cause any problems? Thanks, Gary Cooper (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Gary Cooper
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Validate if user and group exist

I'm kinda new to unix programming so bear with me... I'm running a script prompting a user for an existing user and group and want to be able to validate if they valid. Is there any code available? Any help or push in the right direction would help. Thank you, (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: thedon
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merge group numbers and add a column containing group names

I have a file in the following format. Groups of data merge together and the group number is indicated above each group. 1 adrf dfgr dfg 2 dfgr dfgr 3 dfef dfr fd 4 fgrt fgr fgg 5 fgrt fgr (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lucky Ali
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merge group numbers and add a column containing group names

Hi All I do have a file like this with 6 columns. Groups of data merge together and the group number is indicated above each group. 1 1 12 26 289 3.2e-027 GCGTATGGCGGC 2 12 26 215 6.7e+006 TTCCACCTTTTG 3 9 26 175 ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Lucky Ali
1 Replies