Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How can I get the directory of my executing script? Post 302383074 by clx on Monday 28th of December 2009 09:04:28 AM
Old 12-28-2009
you can run from anywhere of course.
just use absolute path while executing.

what i mean to say is this

Code:
-bash-3.1$ pwd
/a/b
-bash-3.1$ /this/is/my/abs/path/script.ksh
-bash-3.1$ cd ..
-bash-3.1$ pwd
/a
-bash-3.1$ /this/is/my/abs/path/script.ksh

I am not sure if this solve your problem. just a try.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

general question on executing file in drwx--x--x directory

suppose: nevermind, i figured it out, haha... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cul8erppl
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Monitoring a directory for new files with .xx and executing command if found

Hi Guys. I am a complete shell scripting newbie with some syntax and commands understanding. I'm more of a win admin. With that said: I need to write a shell script to monitor a directory '/Mon_Dir' for new occurrences of files with .xx extension. Once a new file is detected in the directory, a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: krkan
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Executing script's directory

I have a shell script /home/user1/bin/sh1, how can I print out the directory of this file inside the script. Say I am in /home/user1/, then I run /home/user1/bin/sh1 I need it to print out /home/user1/bin. Thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jasony001
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

getting : No such file or directory while executing a shell script

Hi all, I am getting : No such file or directory while executing a shell script. But i have that corresponding file in the corresponding path. It also have executable rights. Please help me out in this Thanks in advance. Ananthi.U (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ananthi_ku
7 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users