Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: need help with posix threads
Top Forums Programming need help with posix threads Post 302382300 by brett01 on Wednesday 23rd of December 2009 02:05:31 AM
Old 12-23-2009
need help with posix threads

Hi,

I am new to posix threads. The no of threads to be created depends on the runtime. If I get the number of threads,
I need to forward declare

pthread_t mythread[n];

how to do that can I use pointers and use malloc()??

I also have another question. The pthread_join is used to make sure all the threads are completed right?? If I want to spawn new threads and execute threads when a particular set of threads get completed,How to complete it. Is my understanding of pthread_join correct??

function1()
{
for(//some n)
{

pthread_create(..,task1);
pthread_join(...,task1);
}

}

function2()
{

for(//some n)
{

pthread_create(..,task2);
pthread_join(...,task2);
}

}
Does this thing work for the model I ve said??
Thanks & Regards,
brett.

Last edited by brett01; 12-23-2009 at 04:52 AM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. BSD

Posix queues

Hi! Everybody%) I got a question like this: Does my FreeBSD5.1 support Posix queues. Thanks! (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: kamazi
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to read POSIX?

how to read POSIX? poe six or not? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: robin.zhu
3 Replies

3. Programming

POSIX threads

Hello ! Let's supose I have a main function in C , and two POSIX threads. I give you an example down : int main() { int something; char else; void *FirstThread(); void *SecondThread(); .. <start those two pthreads ..> return 0;} void *FirstThread() { ... } void *SecondThread()... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: !_30
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Threads and Threads Count ?

Hi all, How can I get the list of all Threads and the Total count of threads under a particular process ? Do suggest !! Awaiting for the replies !! Thanks Varun:b: (2 Replies)