Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract a string up to the first occurence of a substring Post 302379792 by kirkg on Saturday 12th of December 2009 09:23:06 AM
Old 12-12-2009
Extract a string up to the first occurence of a substring

Hi,

I'm a newbie to shell scripting and have searched the forum but couldn't find what i was looking for.

Basically I have a list of filenames like...
123-fileone.txt

I want to be able to extract the prefix up to the first '-'. So I'd end up with 123. I have attempted it using a pretty basic regex ({F%-*}) but that trips up when there is more than 1 occurrence of '-' in the filename, which there can be.

I'm sure it's a simple thing to do...just not for me Smilie

Thanks.

Kirk.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

command/script to extract a substring from a string

I have a long string "<ID type="Oid">{}</ID>" I need to extract "GigabitEthernet0/1" from the above string. How can it be done? :) (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: girisha
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace string B depending on occurence of string A

Depending upon the occurence of string 'xyz', I want to remove -t from the input file. There is not a fixed length input file. Any suggestions Input file: this is xyz line -t of the data this is line 2 of -t of the data xyz this is line 3 of -t the file this is line xyz of the -t file... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hemangjani
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using Awk in shell script to extract an index of a substring from a parent string

Hi All, I am new to this shell scripting world. Struck up with a problem, can anyone of you please pull me out of this. Requirement : Need to get the index of a substring from a parent string Eg : index("Sandy","dy") should return 4 or 3. My Approach : I used Awk function index to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sandeepms17
2 Replies