Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming functions that manipulate void pointers Post 302378405 by jim mcnamara on Monday 7th of December 2009 09:24:21 PM
Old 12-07-2009
IF I understand - one uses void * as the datatype in function arguments so that it can be cast to a fixed (read: one) datatype in the function.

If you choose to use anonymous blocks in the function, then you could use if() or switch() to select a datatype depending on another variable.

The best choice is to stick with a single datatype. If you need something "cool" use function pointers to branch to the right choice for the datatype you want:

The Function Pointer Tutorials - Syntax

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting the Void File in CSH

First and foremost, this is not a homework for your information. I'm just new to using c-shell programming and I just wanted to make my life easier @ work. Say, the file contains the following: ID FILE NO. SL VP 1 1 22 33 1 2 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ilak1008
3 Replies

2. Programming

How to return void function pointer

Hello all im trying to build function that will return void function pointer what is mean is ( not working ) the main function void * myClass::getFunction(int type){ if(type==1) return &myClass::Test1; if(type==2) return &myClass::Test2; } void myClass::Test1(){... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umen
1 Replies

3. Programming

What is the difference between f(...), f(void) and f()

What is the difference between f(...) , f(void),f() I know that f(void) doesn't take any parameters, but what about f() and f(...) Does the last call of function even exists? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: purplelightspar
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

void (char *asd)

void asdf(char *asd) is this thing a pointer? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: khestoi
1 Replies

5. Homework & Coursework Questions

C++ struct pointers & functions