Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Automating Application Control Post 302378055 by cmillerPDX on Sunday 6th of December 2009 07:40:25 PM
Old 12-06-2009
Automating Application Control

I am currently wanting to automate the testing of a piece of software which runs in UNIX. The software is fairly basic, it has a menu, returns command line messages while operating, etc. I need to test it loading many different files which are all well organized and then run various combinations of menu options.

Basically my question is what would be the best approach and language to implement this quickly and efficiently? I'd like to be able able to run the same test/script on all of the input files automatically. But even if I had to run a small script which inputs the files individually it would save me a lot of time.

Being able to log and make decisions based on output to the console is very important.

I'm sure the solution is pretty simple but I'm new to UNIX and Google didn't really provide anything too relevant. Any pointers and references that would help me solve this problem would be greatly appreciated. Smilie

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

automating password ?

Hi all, I want to write a script which logs into a database (DB2). To do this i need to have a password. This will be done lots and lots of times, so i need to modify the script to automate the response to the password request. How do i this, because at present i do the following: db2 connect... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Liamo
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Automating sendmail

Hi there, I am trying to send emails from within a shell script, and I need help. Also I am trying to send attachments from within a shell script. I am using sendmail. Regards (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: JimJim
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Automating Autosys