Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Device Mapper Notations and LVM Post 302378002 by fpmurphy on Sunday 6th of December 2009 10:22:59 AM
Old 12-06-2009
Quote:
Is this normal behaviour or have I done something wrong?
Yes, it is normal.

Quote:
is there a way to find a mapping between the device mapper notations and the corresponding lvm volumes?
Yes. Remove "/mapper", replace '-" with "/". Thus
Code:
/dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol01

becomes
Code:
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

How to reduce LVM to create another LVM

Hi, I'm new to HP-UX. I have LVM on /var with 92Gig. I would like to reduce it to create another LVM for Oracle client with 800 meg or so. How to do it. I'm running 11.iv3 Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: lamoul
4 Replies

2. Red Hat

device-mapper-multipath path [undef]

I have an HP blade with Qlogic HBA's connected to an EVA8000. I have downloaded the latest multipath.conf from HP's website. The drive presented to the server appears to be configured and working except the output of "multipath -l" shows for all paths. What is causing this output? mpath0... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: manzier
2 Replies

3. Linux

If i don't have raid disks can i shut down dmraid device-mapper?

hello my centOS newly installed system loading dmraid modules on startup I did remove all LVM/raid things from system installation menus and after installation too but dmraid is still there and he says: no raid disks found also I did modprobe -r dm_raid45 and it do remove it but only until... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: tip78
7 Replies

4. AIX

LVM & Raw device i/o comparison

Please consider this a question about basics&best practices. On AIX 5.3 system, three raw physical volumes are defined from storage. While doing a read with command dd from the raw device, the speed rate is 250Mb/s. Then, it gets complex when I define these three pv's to an lv of type raw. Doing... (4 Replies)