Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Check if user exists shell
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Check if user exists shell Post 302377153 by Scott on Thursday 3rd of December 2009 08:50:04 AM
Old 12-03-2009
Sorry. I made a mistake: then was missing

Code:
#!/bin/sh
echo "Search user:"
read typed
if id $typed > /dev/null 2>&1
then
   echo "user exist!"
else
  echo "user doesn't exist"
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. SCO

Need Script to check whether user exists in the remote machine

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting. Can someone let me know, how to check whether the user exists in the remote system? I am building a new unix box and before I proceed installing the appliation , I want to check whether the required users are created in the system . how to do this ?... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Srini75
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Good (reliable!) check if user exists

Hi all, I've been trying to find a good check I can put it in to a shell script to see if a given user exists. Some of the things I've thought about is checking whether they have a home directory, but not all users have a home directory. I've thought about grepping the /etc/passwd file for... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: _Spare_Ribs_
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

HOW TO CHECK ONLY .C FILES EXISTS OR NOT IN A FOLDER using IF in C shell script?

Hi friends.. I hav a problem.... I dont know how to check .c files exists r not in a folder using IF in C shell script actually i tried like this if(=~ *.c) even though some .c files or there in the current folder..it is not entering int o the if control statement...... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: p.hemadrireddy
17 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to check if any file exists in 4 folders