Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Manipulating the etc/passwd file with sed Post 302376117 by Pauline mugisha on Monday 30th of November 2009 04:53:26 PM
Old 11-30-2009
I am a new sys admin. Wanted to know options.

Thnx

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Manipulating awk $variables using sed?

I have been searching around the forums here trying to find a solution to my problem but not getting anywhere but closer to baldness. I have a 20 column pipe "|" seperated text file. The 14th variable doesnt always exist, but will have the format of YYYYMM or YYYY if it does. I need to take... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: r0sc0
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Manipulating File

Help...please. I have a log that contains Warning Authentication Failed: User GHDT88998HS doesn't exit: The User GHDT88998HS could not be found Mar 22, 2008 5:22:22AM com.hometel.ttm.auth.userlogin. about maybe a thousand entries failed user acct message How can I grab just the username... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rivendell500
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help!! manipulating file

Hi all, I need help manipulating the file below. Here is what I needed to do. First, I have to replace INSUPD to DELETE. Then I need to change the content of the file around by flipping the contents in the file from the bottom to the top (start from "CMD") How should I attack this? Here... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sirrtuan
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

manipulating Fields in file using SED

Hi, I have two issues: I have one file say file1.dat and its over 3GB. It contains pipe delimited fields. The first line in the file is the header field which tells the column names etc. and from second line it's the data fileds with pipe delimited. Something like below: ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting