Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Counting commands frequency
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Counting commands frequency Post 302373729 by Max89 on Saturday 21st of November 2009 03:02:19 PM
Old 11-21-2009
Counting commands frequency

I'd like to create a script that keeps track of the commands used.
For example:

count ls ps

and from now on whenever I use ls or ps a counter is increased.
I want that after the command count has been activated a session starts(here I can use any commands) and I want to stop the session with a special command(quit for example).
In the end I want to print the result.
I'm a beginner in shell scripting and I don't know how to allow the shell continuing his work after my command has started.

Thank you in advance.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

How to find processor frequency

Hello , Please tell me how to find processor frequency in HP UNIX . (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: manjunath
8 Replies

2. Solaris

out of frequency

:cool: after installing solaris 10 5/08/09 directory the computer rebooting then the massage "out of frequency" appear.i want a solution first second my main board is GA-MA780G UD3H (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: medo2008
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting value frequency within an array

How is it possible to sort different nummeric values within an Array. But i don`t want the highest or the lowest. I need the most frequently occurring value. For examble: My Array has to following values = (200 404 404 500 404 404 404 200 404) The result should be 404 The values are... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: 2retti
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to calculate frequency distributions?