Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to Pull out multiple files from DB table and redirect all those files to a differetn directory? Post 302373591 by rdcwayx on Saturday 21st of November 2009 01:08:31 AM
Old 11-21-2009
Something like this?

Code:
$ awk 'NR>1 {if($4>500) print "cp ",$3"/"$2,$3"/new/"$2} ' ur_table_file
cp  /apps/opt/UNO_1234 /apps/opt/new/UNO_1234
cp  /apps/opt/UNO_1235 /apps/opt/new/UNO_1235
cp  /apps/opt/UNO_1236 /apps/opt/new/UNO_1236

you can export the output to a file, and add x permission on it, then run it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect output to multiple files.

Hi, I am new to shell scripting and have a question. I would like to redirect the output of a command to multiple files, each file holding the exact same copy. From what I read from the bash manpage and from some searching it seems it cannot be done within the shell except setting up a loop. Is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cbkihong
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

can you redirect multiple files for input?

I have a program that is reading strings into a vector from a file. Currently I am using this command: a.out < file1 The program runs and prints the contents of the vector to the screen, like its supposed to. The problem is that it needs to read in 3 files to fill the vector. Is there anyway... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Matrix_Prime
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirect files to a directory

i have some 2000 files and i want to redirect it to a dir after i give the command find . -mtime -15 -print it gives some 2000 files file1.DAT file2.DAT : : : file2000.DAT ------------------------------------------------------------------------how to redirect all these 2000 files... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ali560045
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to redirect the output to multiple files without putting on console