Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extracting only a few columns!!!? Post 302370724 by smarty86 on Thursday 12th of November 2009 09:03:07 AM
Old 11-12-2009
what home work are you talking about?? I have to submit my script before monday to my team lead.. i'm not a programmer but knows basics thats all...

and even i didnt write any program also...there was a program already with our team but there we need to change few things...like the one above...

please help me

---------- Post updated at 06:03 AM ---------- Previous update was at 05:54 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by protocomm
Here my participation...

Code:
cat file | awk '/^[0-9]/' | awk 'BEGIN{print "component Part New Part Part Name"};{n=split($0,tab)}{if(NR==2) {print tab[1],tab[4],$NF} else {print tab[1],tab[3],$NF}}'

Result:

Code:
component Part New Part Part Name
12345 12345.12345 Bad
23456 23456.23456 Good
34567 34567.34567 Bad

Hi thanks for your reply... checked this and working almost ok but the problem is i should get 12345 exactly under "component part" column n there should be some space between each column.. means columns should be arranged in a proper order,....

Last edited by smarty86; 11-13-2009 at 12:05 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Extracting columns from different files for later merging

Hello! I wan't to extract columns from two files and later combine them for plotting with gnuplot. If the files file1 and file2 look like: fiile1: a, 0.62,x b, 0.61,x file2: a, 0.43,x b, 0,49,x The desired output is a 0.62 0.62 b 0.61 0.49 Thank you in advance! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kingkong
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in extracting columns