Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Comparing directories on different unix servers Post 302366588 by Jazmania on Friday 30th of October 2009 12:17:15 AM
Old 10-30-2009
Ok, maybe I don't need the sort.. Just tried

Code:
diff <(ssh paehowup2303 'find /home/x136873 -type f') <(ssh njros1up2303 'find /home/x136873 -type f')

still getting ksh: syntax error: `(' unexpected

I'm running this straight from command line at the minute.. do i need the ' in the command?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Solaris

comparing 2 Solaris servers

hello has anyone built a script that compares 2 Solaris servers? CPU, memory, swap, memory variables in /etc/system, Solaris version Could you please advise on how to make such a comparaison? thanks (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: melanie_pfefer
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Comparing directories via ftp

Hello! I am trying to compare a list of files in 2 directories - one on our unix server (I'll call it 'ours') and one on a site we ftp to (I'll call it 'ftp'). I need to make sure that after we ftp, the names that we put out there match the names we have on our side. I was thinking to create a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tekster757
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

comparing the content of two directories

Hello I want to compare the content of two directories recursively to check if the two directories have the same files. How can I do that? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: xyzt
2 Replies

5. Homework & Coursework Questions

comparing 2 directories